Licence status by province and territory

Where powerline technicians need certification
  • Certification required
  • Voluntary certification
Powerline technician: licence status, regulator and guide in each jurisdiction
WhereLicence statusRegulatorGuide
British Columbia Certification required SkilledTradesBC Read the guide for British Columbia
Alberta Voluntary certification Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Training Read the guide for Alberta
Saskatchewan Voluntary certification Saskatchewan Apprenticeship and Trade Certification Commission Read the guide for Saskatchewan
Manitoba Certification required Apprenticeship Manitoba Read the guide for Manitoba
Ontario Voluntary certification Skilled Trades Ontario Read the guide for Ontario
Quebec Certification required Centre administratif de la qualification professionnelle Read the guide for Quebec
New Brunswick Voluntary certification New Brunswick Department of Post-Secondary Education, Training and Labour Read the guide for New Brunswick
Nova Scotia Voluntary certification Nova Scotia Apprenticeship Agency Read the guide for Nova Scotia
Prince Edward Island Voluntary certification Apprenticeship Section Read the guide for Prince Edward Island
Newfoundland and Labrador Voluntary certification Apprenticeship and Trades Certification Division Read the guide for Newfoundland and Labrador
Yukon Voluntary certification Apprenticeship Training Read the guide for Yukon
Northwest Territories Voluntary certification Apprenticeship, Trades and Occupations Read the guide for Northwest Territories
Nunavut Voluntary certification Apprenticeship, Trade and Occupations Certification Read the guide for Nunavut

Compare the provinces

Listed one-time fees

Listed one-time fees for powerline technicians by province and territoryListed fees in British Columbia: $120, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Alberta: $150, for people trained in Canada. Listed fees in Saskatchewan: not listed. Listed fees in Manitoba: not listed. Listed fees in Ontario: not listed. Listed fees in Quebec: not listed. Listed fees in New Brunswick: $100, for people trained outside Canada. Listed fees in Nova Scotia: not listed. Listed fees in Prince Edward Island: not listed. Listed fees in Newfoundland and Labrador: not listed. Listed fees in Yukon: not listed. Listed fees in Northwest Territories: not listed.$0$50$100$150Listed fees in British Columbia: $120, for people trained outside CanadaBritish Columbia$120Listed fees in Alberta: $150, for people trained in CanadaAlberta$150Listed fees in Saskatchewan: not listedSaskatchewanNot listedListed fees in Manitoba: not listedManitobaNot listedListed fees in Ontario: not listedOntarioNot listedListed fees in Quebec: not listedQuebecNot listedListed fees in New Brunswick: $100, for people trained outside CanadaNew Brunswick$100Listed fees in Nova Scotia: not listedNova ScotiaNot listedListed fees in Prince Edward Island: not listedPrince Edward IslandNot listedListed fees in Newfoundland and Labrador: not listedNewfoundland and LabradorNot listedListed fees in Yukon: not listedYukonNot listedListed fees in Northwest Territories: not listedNorthwest TerritoriesNot listed
The fees the regulator lists for the steps of one route, added up in Canadian dollars. Fees that depend on your situation and annual fees are not included. Not listed: the guide lists no fee for that route. No-fee steps: steps of that route with no listed fee.
Listed one-time fees for powerline technicians by province and territory (table)
WhereFeesRouteNo-fee steps
British Columbia$120Trained outside Canada5
Alberta$150Trained in Canada5
SaskatchewanNot listedTrained in Canada4
ManitobaNot listedTrained outside Canada7
OntarioNot listedTrained outside Canada5
QuebecNot listedTrained in Canada6
New Brunswick$100Trained outside Canada4
Nova ScotiaNot listedTrained outside Canada1
Prince Edward IslandNot listedTrained outside Canada2
Newfoundland and LabradorNot listedTrained in Canada4
YukonNot listedTrained in Canada3
Northwest TerritoriesNot listedTrained in Canada3

Listed time

Time not stated for every step: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, Yukon, and Northwest Territories.

Side by side

Routes, exams, language, listed fees and time, median wage and outlook in each province or territory with a full guide
WhereRoutesExamsLanguage Listed feesListed timeMedian wageOutlook
British Columbia Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada certification exam, Red Seal exam — $120 (Trained outside Canada) 25.8 to 26.3 months (partial) $50.00 an hour Limited (2 of 5)
Alberta Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province Entrance exam, Theory exam, Red Seal exam — $150 (Trained in Canada) — $55.00 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
Saskatchewan Trained in Canada written exam, practical exam, Interprovincial Journeyperson Examination, Level One Examination, Level Two Examination — Not listed — $47.85 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Manitoba Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Red Seal exam — Not listed 1.4 months (partial) $47.00 an hour Limited (2 of 5)
Ontario Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada certifying exam, in-school exemption test — Not listed — $45.00 an hour Good (4 of 5)
Quebec Trained in Canada Red Seal exam — Not listed — $42.49 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
New Brunswick Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Certification Exam, Red Seal exam — $100 (Trained outside Canada) — $47.26 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
Nova Scotia Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province, Trained outside Canada Trade qualifier exam, Certification exam — Not listed — $51.35 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
Prince Edward Island Trained in Canada, Trained outside Canada Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination — Not listed — $42.00 an hour Undetermined
Newfoundland and Labrador Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province certification examination, Red Seal exam — Not listed — $44.00 an hour Moderate (3 of 5)
Yukon Trained in Canada, Licensed in another province apprenticeship level 1 exam, journeyperson Certificate of Qualification exam — Not listed — $72.75 an hour Undetermined
Northwest Territories Trained in Canada entrance examination, Written Level Examinations, Written Certification Examination, Red Seal exam — Not listed — $66.32 an hour Undetermined

Moving between provinces

Powerline technician: moving a licence between provinces and territories
  • Direct transfer (24)
  • Extra steps (24)
  • Not stated (108)
All answers as a table
Powerline technician: moving a licence between provinces and territories. Rows: licensed in; columns: moving to.
Licensed in / moving toBritish ColumbiaAlbertaSaskatchewanManitobaOntarioQuebecNew BrunswickNova ScotiaPrince Edward IslandNewfoundland and LabradorYukonNorthwest TerritoriesNunavut
British ColumbiaSame placeExtra steps, British Columbia to AlbertaNot stated, British Columbia to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, British Columbia to ManitobaNot stated, British Columbia to OntarioNot stated, British Columbia to QuebecDirect transfer, British Columbia to New BrunswickNot stated, British Columbia to Nova ScotiaNot stated, British Columbia to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, British Columbia to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, British Columbia to YukonNot stated, British Columbia to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, British Columbia to Nunavut
AlbertaExtra steps, Alberta to British ColumbiaSame placeNot stated, Alberta to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Alberta to ManitobaNot stated, Alberta to OntarioNot stated, Alberta to QuebecDirect transfer, Alberta to New BrunswickNot stated, Alberta to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Alberta to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Alberta to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Alberta to YukonNot stated, Alberta to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Alberta to Nunavut
SaskatchewanExtra steps, Saskatchewan to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Saskatchewan to AlbertaSame placeDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to ManitobaNot stated, Saskatchewan to OntarioNot stated, Saskatchewan to QuebecDirect transfer, Saskatchewan to New BrunswickNot stated, Saskatchewan to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Saskatchewan to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Saskatchewan to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Saskatchewan to YukonNot stated, Saskatchewan to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Saskatchewan to Nunavut
ManitobaExtra steps, Manitoba to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Manitoba to AlbertaNot stated, Manitoba to SaskatchewanSame placeNot stated, Manitoba to OntarioNot stated, Manitoba to QuebecDirect transfer, Manitoba to New BrunswickNot stated, Manitoba to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Manitoba to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Manitoba to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Manitoba to YukonNot stated, Manitoba to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Manitoba to Nunavut
OntarioExtra steps, Ontario to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Ontario to AlbertaNot stated, Ontario to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Ontario to ManitobaSame placeNot stated, Ontario to QuebecDirect transfer, Ontario to New BrunswickNot stated, Ontario to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Ontario to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Ontario to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Ontario to YukonNot stated, Ontario to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Ontario to Nunavut
QuebecExtra steps, Quebec to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Quebec to AlbertaNot stated, Quebec to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Quebec to ManitobaNot stated, Quebec to OntarioSame placeDirect transfer, Quebec to New BrunswickNot stated, Quebec to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Quebec to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Quebec to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Quebec to YukonNot stated, Quebec to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Quebec to Nunavut
New BrunswickExtra steps, New Brunswick to British ColumbiaExtra steps, New Brunswick to AlbertaNot stated, New Brunswick to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, New Brunswick to ManitobaNot stated, New Brunswick to OntarioNot stated, New Brunswick to QuebecSame placeNot stated, New Brunswick to Nova ScotiaNot stated, New Brunswick to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, New Brunswick to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, New Brunswick to YukonNot stated, New Brunswick to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, New Brunswick to Nunavut
Nova ScotiaExtra steps, Nova Scotia to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Nova Scotia to AlbertaNot stated, Nova Scotia to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to ManitobaNot stated, Nova Scotia to OntarioNot stated, Nova Scotia to QuebecDirect transfer, Nova Scotia to New BrunswickSame placeNot stated, Nova Scotia to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Nova Scotia to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Nova Scotia to YukonNot stated, Nova Scotia to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Nova Scotia to Nunavut
Prince Edward IslandExtra steps, Prince Edward Island to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Prince Edward Island to AlbertaNot stated, Prince Edward Island to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to ManitobaNot stated, Prince Edward Island to OntarioNot stated, Prince Edward Island to QuebecDirect transfer, Prince Edward Island to New BrunswickNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Nova ScotiaSame placeNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Prince Edward Island to YukonNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Prince Edward Island to Nunavut
Newfoundland and LabradorExtra steps, Newfoundland and Labrador to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Newfoundland and Labrador to AlbertaNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to ManitobaNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to OntarioNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to QuebecDirect transfer, Newfoundland and Labrador to New BrunswickNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Prince Edward IslandSame placeNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to YukonNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Newfoundland and Labrador to Nunavut
YukonExtra steps, Yukon to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Yukon to AlbertaNot stated, Yukon to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Yukon to ManitobaNot stated, Yukon to OntarioNot stated, Yukon to QuebecDirect transfer, Yukon to New BrunswickNot stated, Yukon to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Yukon to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Yukon to Newfoundland and LabradorSame placeNot stated, Yukon to Northwest TerritoriesNot stated, Yukon to Nunavut
Northwest TerritoriesExtra steps, Northwest Territories to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Northwest Territories to AlbertaNot stated, Northwest Territories to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to ManitobaNot stated, Northwest Territories to OntarioNot stated, Northwest Territories to QuebecDirect transfer, Northwest Territories to New BrunswickNot stated, Northwest Territories to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Northwest Territories to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Northwest Territories to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Northwest Territories to YukonSame placeNot stated, Northwest Territories to Nunavut
NunavutExtra steps, Nunavut to British ColumbiaExtra steps, Nunavut to AlbertaNot stated, Nunavut to SaskatchewanDirect transfer, Nunavut to ManitobaNot stated, Nunavut to OntarioNot stated, Nunavut to QuebecDirect transfer, Nunavut to New BrunswickNot stated, Nunavut to Nova ScotiaNot stated, Nunavut to Prince Edward IslandNot stated, Nunavut to Newfoundland and LabradorNot stated, Nunavut to YukonNot stated, Nunavut to Northwest TerritoriesSame place

Check one move in the licence transfer checker

Demand and pay

Median wage

Median hourly wage for powerline technicians by province and territoryCanada: $46.00 (low $28.40, high $62.00). British Columbia: $50.00 (low $32.00, high $63.00). Alberta: $55.00 (low $31.75, high $67.31). Saskatchewan: $47.85 (low $35.00, high $62.00). Manitoba: $47.00 (low $27.40, high $55.00). Ontario: $45.00 (low $29.70, high $62.00). Quebec: $42.49 (low $30.90, high $49.20). New Brunswick: $47.26 (low $31.41, high $65.44). Nova Scotia: $51.35 (low $29.61, high $70.79). Prince Edward Island: $42.00 (low $27.00, high $45.00). Newfoundland and Labrador: $44.00 (low $23.50, high $50.00). Yukon: $72.75 (low $54.61, high $79.57). Northwest Territories: $66.32 (low $39.38, high $78.51). Nunavut: not stated.$0$20$40$60$80Canada: $46.00 (low $28.40, high $62.00)Canada$46.00British Columbia: $50.00 (low $32.00, high $63.00)British Columbia$50.00Alberta: $55.00 (low $31.75, high $67.31)Alberta$55.00Saskatchewan: $47.85 (low $35.00, high $62.00)Saskatchewan$47.85Manitoba: $47.00 (low $27.40, high $55.00)Manitoba$47.00Ontario: $45.00 (low $29.70, high $62.00)Ontario$45.00Quebec: $42.49 (low $30.90, high $49.20)Quebec$42.49New Brunswick: $47.26 (low $31.41, high $65.44)New Brunswick$47.26Nova Scotia: $51.35 (low $29.61, high $70.79)Nova Scotia$51.35Prince Edward Island: $42.00 (low $27.00, high $45.00)Prince Edward Island$42.00Newfoundland and Labrador: $44.00 (low $23.50, high $50.00)Newfoundland and Labrador$44.00Yukon: $72.75 (low $54.61, high $79.57)Yukon$72.75Northwest Territories: $66.32 (low $39.38, high $78.51)Northwest Territories$66.32Nunavut: not statedNunavutNot stated
Bars show the median wage. Lines run from the low to the high wage, which are Job Bank’s 10th and 90th percentiles. Grey is all of Canada.
Median hourly wage for powerline technicians by province and territory (table)
WhereLowMedianHigh
Canada$28.40$46.00$62.00
British Columbia$32.00$50.00$63.00
Alberta$31.75$55.00$67.31
Saskatchewan$35.00$47.85$62.00
Manitoba$27.40$47.00$55.00
Ontario$29.70$45.00$62.00
Quebec$30.90$42.49$49.20
New Brunswick$31.41$47.26$65.44
Nova Scotia$29.61$51.35$70.79
Prince Edward Island$27.00$42.00$45.00
Newfoundland and Labrador$23.50$44.00$50.00
Yukon$54.61$72.75$79.57
Northwest Territories$39.38$66.32$78.51
NunavutNot statedNot statedNot stated

Job outlook

Job outlook for powerline technicians by province and territory, 1 to 5British Columbia: Limited (2 of 5). Alberta: Moderate (3 of 5). Saskatchewan: Good (4 of 5). Manitoba: Limited (2 of 5). Ontario: Good (4 of 5). Quebec: Moderate (3 of 5). New Brunswick: Moderate (3 of 5). Nova Scotia: Moderate (3 of 5). Prince Edward Island: undetermined. Newfoundland and Labrador: Moderate (3 of 5). Yukon: undetermined. Northwest Territories: undetermined. Nunavut: undetermined.12345British Columbia: Limited (2 of 5)British ColumbiaLimitedAlberta: Moderate (3 of 5)AlbertaModerateSaskatchewan: Good (4 of 5)SaskatchewanGoodManitoba: Limited (2 of 5)ManitobaLimitedOntario: Good (4 of 5)OntarioGoodQuebec: Moderate (3 of 5)QuebecModerateNew Brunswick: Moderate (3 of 5)New BrunswickModerateNova Scotia: Moderate (3 of 5)Nova ScotiaModeratePrince Edward Island: undeterminedPrince Edward IslandUndeterminedNewfoundland and Labrador: Moderate (3 of 5)Newfoundland and LabradorModerateYukon: undeterminedYukonUndeterminedNorthwest Territories: undeterminedNorthwest TerritoriesUndeterminedNunavut: undeterminedNunavutUndetermined
1 is a very limited outlook and 5 a very good one.
Job outlook for powerline technicians by province and territory, 1 to 5 (table)
WhereOutlook
British ColumbiaLimited (2 of 5)
AlbertaModerate (3 of 5)
SaskatchewanGood (4 of 5)
ManitobaLimited (2 of 5)
OntarioGood (4 of 5)
QuebecModerate (3 of 5)
New BrunswickModerate (3 of 5)
Nova ScotiaModerate (3 of 5)
Prince Edward IslandOutlook not determined
Newfoundland and LabradorModerate (3 of 5)
YukonOutlook not determined
Northwest TerritoriesOutlook not determined
NunavutOutlook not determined

Wages in every province and territory

Tools and tables

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.