How to Become a Registered Nurse in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Registered Nurses of Alberta to work as a registered nurse in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Under Alberta’s Health Professions Act [pdf], Health Professions Restricted Activity Regulation [pdf], and Registered Nurses Profession Regulation [pdf], registration with the College of Registered Nurses of Alberta (CRNA) is mandatory.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-registered, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 0 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with CRNA
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
-
You first go through the Pathways to a Permit tool, which recommends an application pathway based on your situation, to create an account.
Source
“To create an account, you must go through our Pathways to a Permit tool first. It will recommend an application pathway based on your situation.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi... -
You complete the jurisprudence and protecting patients from sexual abuse and misconduct courses.
Source
“udence and *Protecting Patients from Sexual Abuse and Misconduct* courses”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi... -
You take the registration exam as part of the application.
Source
“- Take the registration exam”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi... -
You purchase professional liability protection.
Source
“- Purchase professional liability protection”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi... -
You make payment through the convenient options provided.
Source
“- Make payment through convenient options provided”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi... -
You review your application and confirm its accuracy.
Source
“- Review your application and confirm its accuracy”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CRNA
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
Steps not listed by the regulator Check with CRNA
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Before starting your application, you review the steps to a permit page, your options for confirming competency, and download the substantial equivalence worksheet.
Source
“Before you start your application, review the steps to a permit page, your options for confirmation competency page and download your copy of the substantial equivalence worksheet.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/international-applicants -
You complete the substantial equivalence application, using the worksheet to assist you.
Source
“The worksheet will assist you with completing your substantial equivalence application.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/international-applicants -
If you are applying using the substantial equivalence application and have not previously passed the NCLEX-RN, you need to take the exam as part of your application.
Source
“Applying using the substantial equivalence application and have not previously passed the NCLEX-RN”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CRNA
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Additional fee for late information or requests: $51.75 (for information or requests received after the deadlines)
Source
“Information or requests received after the deadlines noted above will result in an additional fee of $51.75.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat...
Requirements
Education
You must be completing your program within six weeks or have completed an approved entry-level RN program in Canada.
Source
“Be completing your program within six weeks or have completed an approved entry-level RN program in Canada”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi...You must not have held an RN permit in another Canadian province to use this application.
Source
“Have not held an RN permit in another Canadian province”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi...
Insurance
You must purchase professional liability protection.
Source
“- Purchase professional liability protection”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi...
Other
You must successfully complete the CRNA Jurisprudence courses.
Source
“The CRNA Jurisprudence courses”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-registeredYou must pass the appropriate registration exam to become a registered nurse in Alberta.
Source
“Successful completion of a registration exam is a mandatory requirement for registration in Alberta.”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat...Applicants who have been out of practice for a period may have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practise.
Source
“Applicants who have been out of practice for a period may have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practice.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-registered
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated by the regulator Check with CRNA
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CRNA
Exams
-
National Council Licensure Examination - Registered Nurse (NCLEX-RN)
Source
“The registration exam used for registered nurses is the National Council Licensure Examination - Registered Nurse (NCLEX-RN).”
nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat...Which provinces ask for the National Council Licensure Examination - Registered Nurse (NCLEX-RN)
Language tests
| Test | Overall | Listening | Reading | Writing | Speaking | CLB | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Canadian English Language Benchmark Assessment for Nurses (CELBAN) | — | 9 | 8 | 7 | 8 | — | Source“Completion of Canadian English Language Benchmark Assessment for Nurses (CELBAN) test meeting the following minimum scores: Minimum scores: Listening = 9, Writing = 7, Reading = 8, Speaking = 8.”nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/english-l... |
| International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic | 7.0 | 7.0 | 6.5 | 6.5 | 7.0 | — | Source“Completion of International English Language Testing System (IELTS) Academic test meeting the following minimum scores: Minimum scores: Listening = 7.0, Writing = 6.5, Reading = 6.5, Speaking = 7.0, Overall = 7.0.”nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/english-l... |
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with CRNA
Supervised practice
Not required
A graduate nurse registered on the provisional register must work under supervision and other conditions. Source
“Must work under supervision and other conditions”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-registered
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $30.00 | $47.50 | $54.49 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $43.27 | $54.37 | — |
Registered nurses in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Nurse - Registered: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/nurse-registered · fetched October 9, 2026
- Registered Nurses | University Graduate Applicants nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/university-graduate-applicants/regi... · fetched October 9, 2026
- International Applicants nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/international-applicants · fetched October 9, 2026
- Registration Exams nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/registrat... · fetched October 9, 2026
- English Language Proficiency nurses.ab.ca/nursing-in-alberta/registration-requirements/english-l... · fetched October 9, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a registered nurse in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Registered Nurses of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
National Council Licensure Examination - Registered Nurse (NCLEX-RN).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.