How to Become a Registered Nurse in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator to work as a registered nurse in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“You must have either a conditional or practising licence to work as a nurse in Nova Scotia.”
From nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 6 steps
- Licensed in another province: 5 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 10 steps, listed one-time fees $750
- Annual fees
-
- RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $565.50
Source
“RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31) | 428.05 | 68.00 | 69.45 | 565.50”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31): $240.18 (for licences taken from July 1 to October 31)
Source
“RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31) | 142.68 | 68.00 | 29.50 | 240.18”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
- RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $565.50
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 6 done
- 6 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $565.50
-
Sign up in the online portal to create an account, or log in if you already have one.
Source
“If you don’t have an account, sign up to create one. If you already have an account, log in.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Choose the RN application type and pay the application fee.
Source
“Choose your application type: LPN, RN, NP - Pay the application fee”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Submit photocopies of two documents proving your name, such as a birth certificate or passport.
Source
“Photocopy of 2 proof of name documents. These can include: - Birth certificate - Passport”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Submit an original criminal record check unless you are already registered with the regulator in another designation.
Source
“Submit an original criminal record check(s) unless you are currently registered with NSNMR in another designation.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
You may be asked to provide evidence that you meet the English language proficiency requirement.
Source
“You may be asked to provide evidence you meet the English Language Proficiency Registration requirement.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... -
Review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and complete the Jurisprudence Declaration of Compliance confirming you reviewed it.
Source
“new graduates applying to NSNMR are required to review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and complete the Jurisprudence Declaration of Compliance confirming they have reviewed the document.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
6 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $565.50 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $565.50
Source
“RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31) | 428.05 | 68.00 | 69.45 | 565.50”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31): $240.18 (for licences taken from July 1 to October 31)
Source
“RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31) | 142.68 | 68.00 | 29.50 | 240.18”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
Licensed in another province
0 of 5 done
- 5 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $565.50
-
Apply to write the NCLEX-RN through the regulatory body in the province or territory where you completed your nursing program.
Source
“Apply to write the NCLEX-RN through the regulatory body in the province or territory where you completed your nursing program.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/licen... -
If you want to write the exam in Nova Scotia, select Nova Scotia as your exam location when applying to Pearson VUE.
Source
“If you want to write the exam in Nova Scotia, select Nova Scotia as your exam location when applying to Pearson VUE.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/licen... -
Register in the jurisdiction where you completed your program; you do not need a practising licence there, just registration.
Source
“Register in that jurisdiction (*you do not need to hold a practising licence there—you just need to be registered*).”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/licen... -
Ask the regulatory body to send official verification of your registration to the Nova Scotia regulator.
Source
“Request that the regulatory body send us official verification of your registration.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/licen... -
Complete any additional requirements needed for registration and licensing with the Nova Scotia regulator.
Source
“Complete any additional requirements needed for registration and licensing with us.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/licen...
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $565.50 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $565.50
Source
“RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31) | 428.05 | 68.00 | 69.45 | 565.50”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31): $240.18 (for licences taken from July 1 to October 31)
Source
“RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31) | 142.68 | 68.00 | 29.50 | 240.18”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
Trained outside Canada
0 of 10 done
- Listed one-time fees: $750
- 9 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $565.50
- Listed time: 0.2 months (only 1 of 10 steps state a time)
-
Arrange for an Education Credential Assessment to be sent directly to the regulator.
Source
“Arrange for an Education Credential Assessment (ECA) to be sent directly to NSNMR.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Apply to the National Nursing Assessment Service to get an Advisory Report.
- Main Application (Expedited Service): $750
Source
“Step 1: Apply to the National Nursing Assessment Service (NNAS) to get an Advisory Report.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Create an online account with the NNAS application portal and agree to the Terms and Conditions.
-
Fill in your information in the NNAS portal, then review and accept the Terms and Conditions and make the payment.
Source
“Once you have filled out all the necessary information, you will gain access to the payment screen.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
After payment is verified, download forms and submit the required documents, most of which must be sent to NNAS by third parties.
Source
“After your payment has been verified, you will gain access to the document submission screens. Here, you will be able to download forms and submit certain documents to NNAS.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
Monitor your application status and receive the Advisory Report, which is sent automatically to the regulatory body you selected.
Time: 5 daysTime source
“Once all documents are received, your Advisory Report will be issued within five days provided no further clarification is needed.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timelineSource
“Once you receive your Advisory Report, you can apply to the regulatory body of your choice. Your Advisory Report will be sent automatically to the regulatory body (or bodies) you have selected.”
nnas.ca/application-process-timeline -
When you receive your NNAS Advisory Report, contact the regulator by email for further instructions.
Source
“Step 2: Reach out to [email protected] for further instructions.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Show evidence that you meet the language proficiency requirement.
Source
“Show evidence that you meet the language proficiency requirement.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and submit the Jurisprudence Declaration of Completion form.
Source
“Review the Jurisprudence Resource Guide and submit a Jurisprudence Declaration of Completion form to confirm you have reviewed document.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... -
Successfully pass the registration exam.
Source
“Pass the registration exam.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $750
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $750 | 100% |
| One-time total | $750 | 100% |
9 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $565.50 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total. 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
- RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31): $565.50
Source
“RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (November 1 - October 31) | 428.05 | 68.00 | 69.45 | 565.50”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31): $240.18 (for licences taken from July 1 to October 31)
Source
“RN – Practicing Licence or Conditional Licence (July 1 - October 31) | 142.68 | 68.00 | 29.50 | 240.18”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Application for Assessment for RN Registration – International Nurses: $570 (for international nurses)
Source
“International Nurses | 500.00 | 70.00 | 570.00”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - Application for Assessment for RN Registration – Currently licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction: $57 (for new applicants currently licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction)
Source
“New Applicant - Currently licensed in another Canadian jurisdiction | 50.00 | 7.00 | 57.00”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - Application for Assessment for RN Registration – Canadian graduate outside Nova Scotia: $57 (for new applicants who graduated from an approved Canadian education program outside Nova Scotia and are not yet licensed in Canada)
Source
“New Applicant - Graduated from an approved Canadian education program (outside Nova Scotia) and not yet licensed in Canada. | 50.00 | 7.00 | 57.00”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - Registration Only (not intending to apply for a licence in NS): $114 (for applicants not intending to apply for a licence in Nova Scotia)
Source
“Registration Only (not intending to apply for a licence in NS) | 100.00 | - | 14.00 | 114.00”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - RN – Conditional (4 month term): $124.26
Source
“RN – Conditional (4 month term) | 41.00 | 68.00 | 15.26 | 124.26”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - Reactivation of Licence: $57 (after October 31, i.e. late renewal or returning from leave)
Source
“Reactivation of Licence (fee after October 31 i.e. late renewal or returning from leave) | 50.00 | 7.00 | 57.00”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NCLEX-RN Exam Administration Fee – First Writing: $142.50
Source
“NCLEX-RN Exam Administration Fee – First Writing | 125.00\*\* | 17.50 | 142.50”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NCLEX-RN Exam Administration Fee – Subsequent Writings: $71.25 (for subsequent writings of the exam)
Source
“NCLEX-RN Exam Administration Fee – Subsequent Writings | 62.50\*\* | 8.75 | 71.25”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments - NNAS Reactivation of expired application: $240
- NNAS document translation (per page): $115 (per page of document translated by NNAS)
- NNAS Appeals: $500
Requirements
Police check
You must submit an original criminal record check unless you are currently registered with the regulator in another designation.
Source
“Submit an original criminal record check(s) unless you are currently registered with NSNMR in another designation.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad...
Other
All application documents must be in English, with translations done by a certified translator at your cost.
Source
“All application documents must be in English. Translations must be done by a certified translator. You are responsible for translation costs if required.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad...Your application must be filled out by you personally and will be rejected if you use a third party or agency to complete the form.
Source
“Applications must be filled out by the person seeking a nursing licence. Your application will be rejected if you use a third party or agency to complete your form.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat...
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
You can meet the currency of practice requirement by holding current licensing in another Canadian jurisdiction for the same designation when applying for registration and an initial practising licence. Source
“Hold current licensing in another Canadian jurisdiction for the same designation you are applying for (*only available when applying for registration and an initial practising licence with NSNMR*).”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/curre...
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Credential assessment
Education Credential Assessment (ECA)
Arranged by internationally educated applicants and sent directly to the regulator.
Source
“Arrange for an Education Credential Assessment (ECA) to be sent directly to NSNMR.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat...NNAS Advisory Report
If you have one, arrange for the regulator to have access to your NNAS Advisory Report.
Source
“If you have one, arrange for NSNMR to have access to your National Nursing Assessment Service (NNAS) Advisory Report.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat...
Exams
-
NCLEX-RN Exam
Source
“The NCLEX-RN is the mandatory exam for RN registration and licensing in Nova Scotia.”
nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/licen...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | $30.20 | $41.50 | $50.00 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $43.27 | $54.37 | — |
Registered nurses in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Northwest Territories Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- New Grad Educated in Another Province: Not Licensed Anywhere in Canada | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/new-grad... · fetched October 10, 2026
- NCLEX-RN Exam | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/licen... · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Nurse Applicants | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/apply-be-nurse-nova-scotia/internat... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Fees - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application Process & Timeline - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/application-process-timeline · fetched October 9, 2026
- Fees and Payments | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/fees-and-payments · fetched October 9, 2026
- Currency of Practice | Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator nsnmr.ca/registration-licensing/licensure-requirements-nurses/curre... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a registered nurse in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with Nova Scotia Nursing and Midwifery Regulator is required to practise in Nova Scotia.
Which exams are required?
NCLEX-RN Exam.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.