At a glance

Licence status
Licence required See the source
Routes
  • Trained outside Canada: 7 steps, listed one-time fees $750 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
Annual fees

Your roadmap

Trained outside Canada

  • Listed one-time fees: $750
  • 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
  • 5 steps without a listed fee
  • Annual fees: $375 (Registration – RN (Dec 1-Nov 30)), $225 (Registration – RN (June 1-Nov 30)), $40 (Non-Practising)
  1. Before applying to the College of Nursing of New Brunswick, applicants must first register with the Province of New Brunswick's IEN Navigation Service by email.

    Source
    “Before applying to the College of Nursing of New Brunswick (formerly, the Nurses Association of New Brunswick), applicants must first register with the Province of New Brunswick’s (PNB) IEN Navigation Service. To begin, send an email to [email protected] with “IEN Support Program” in the subject line.”
    nanb.nb.ca/ien/zone5/step1
  2. Applicants apply to NNAS and to CNNB as part of the application process.

    • Main Application (Expedited Service): $750
      Source
      “Main Application | $750 CAD<br>($525 USD)\*”
      nnas.ca/fees
    Source
    “Step 2: Apply to NNAS & CNNB”
    nanb.nb.ca/ien/zone5/step1
  3. Applicants pay the applicable fees for their application.

    Source
    “Step 3: Pay applicable fees”
    nanb.nb.ca/ien/zone5/step1
  4. Applicants must demonstrate language proficiency.

    Source
    “Step 4: Language proficiency”
    nanb.nb.ca/ien/zone5/step1
  5. Applicants must meet the currency of practice requirement.

    Source
    “Step 5: Currency of practice”
    nanb.nb.ca/ien/zone5/step1
  6. Applicants may need to complete a competency assessment or courses.

    Source
    “Step 6: Competency assessment or courses”
    nanb.nb.ca/ien/zone5/step1
  7. Applicants must complete the entry-to-practice exam.

    Source
    “Step 7: Entry-to-Practice exam”
    nanb.nb.ca/ien/zone5/step1

Listed fees for this route

One-time total listed: $750

One-time fees listed for Trained outside Canada, by type
Fee typeAmountShare
Application $750 100%
One-time total $750 100%

1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.

5 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.

Annual fees Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.

Other listed fees

The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.

Requirements

Education

  • CNNB must receive confirmation that you have completed an approved nursing education program.

    Source
    “Once CNNB has received confirmation that you have completed an approved nursing education program and you have submitted all required documents, you will be deemed eligible to write the registration examination (NCLEX-RN).”
    nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/exam-application

Experience

  • Registered nurses must have practised a minimum of 1125 hours in a recognized field of nursing in the previous five years to be eligible for registration or renewal.

    Source
    “Registered nurses must have practised a minimum of 1125 hours in a recognized field of nursing in the previous five years.”
    nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/fees-hours-transcripts

Police check

  • Applicants must provide any missing documents, which may include an updated criminal record check, before they can be registered.

    Source
    “Before you can be registered, you must provide any missing documents (for example: official transcripts or updated criminal record check), have your application approved by the registrar, and pay the registration fee.”
    nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/exam-application

Insurance

  • Registering for CNPS professional liability protection and core services is a requirement for registration with CNNB.

    Source
    “Registering for the Canadian Nurses Protective Society (CNPS) professional liability protection and core services is a requirement for registration with CNNB.”
    nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/renewal

Other

  • To be eligible for initial registration, a candidate must write and pass the NCLEX-RN or OIIQ entrance exam within 3 years of completing their nursing program.

    Source
    “To be eligible for initial registration in New Brunswick a candidate must write and pass the NCLEX-RN or OIIQ entrance exam within 3 years of completing their nursing program.”
    nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/exam-application
  • To renew registration, applicants must satisfy CNNB's requirements for Continuing Competence.

    Source
    “To renew your registration you must satisfy CNNB’s requirements for Continuing Competence.”
    nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/renewal

Already licensed in another province?

Not stated

The pages do not state how a registered nurse already licensed in another Canadian province or territory can register in New Brunswick; the page about Canadian applicants covers nurse practitioners.

Source
“This section is for nurse practitioners who have been registered to practice in another Canadian jurisdiction and are applying to New Brunswick FOR THE FIRST TIME.”
nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/canadian-np

Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nurses' Association of New Brunswick

Check a move between two provinces

Credential assessment

  • NNAS Advisory Report

    credential assessment of internationally educated nurses

    Source
    “The NNAS Advisory Report includes all the documents that have been submitted and verified by NNAS and any correspondence you have had with NNAS.”
    nnas.ca/application-process-timeline

Exams

Language tests

Not stated by the regulator Check with Nurses' Association of New Brunswick

Compare scores across provinces and professions

Canadian experience

Not stated by the regulator Check with Nurses' Association of New Brunswick

Supervised practice

Not stated by the regulator Check with Nurses' Association of New Brunswick

Demand and pay

Job Bank wages and outlook in New Brunswick and Canada
WhereLowMedianHighOutlook
New Brunswick $31.00 $44.77 $49.00 Very good (5 of 5)
Canada $30.00 $43.27 $54.37 —

Wages by region and job outlook in New Brunswick

Wages in every province and territory

Registered nurses in other provinces and territories

Compare registered nurse licensing across Canada

Sources checked

  1. Registration Exam Application Process - CNNB nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/exam-application · fetched October 10, 2026
  2. Apply to the Register - IEN - NANB nanb.nb.ca/en/ien · fetched October 10, 2026
  3. Apply to the CNNB Register - IEN - Zone 5, Step 1 nanb.nb.ca/ien/zone5/step1 · fetched October 10, 2026
  4. Fees - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/fees · fetched October 10, 2026
  5. Fees, Hours & Transcripts - Registration Requirements - CNNB nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/fees-hours-transcripts · fetched October 10, 2026
  6. Registration Renewal - CNNB nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/renewal · fetched October 10, 2026
  7. Application Process &amp; Timeline - National Nursing Assessment Service nnas.ca/application-process-timeline · fetched October 9, 2026
  8. Apply to the Register for Canadian NPs - CNNB nanb.nb.ca/en/registration/canadian-np · fetched October 10, 2026

Frequently asked questions

2

Do you need a licence to work as a registered nurse in New Brunswick?

Yes. Registration with the Nurses' Association of New Brunswick is required to practise in New Brunswick, and to use the title registered nurse or RN.

Which exams are required?

NCLEX-RN, OIIQ entrance exam.

Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too

Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.

Schedule a Call

Free consultation. No commitment.