How to Become a Registered Nurse in Northwest Territories
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Nurses of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut to work as a registered nurse in Northwest Territories or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“Performing nursing duties without the required registration or licensure”
From cannn.ca/complaints-conduct/practising-without-a-valid-licence, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $402 (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 3 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 5 steps, listed one-time fees $2,415
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with CNNN
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $402
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Verify that your nursing program is approved by CNNN.
-
Apply to CNNN and to Pearson VUE at least 30 days before your desired exam date, then write the NCLEX-RN within the validity dates on your Authorization to Test.
- NCLEX-RN exam fee (CNNN): $42
- NCLEX-RN exam fee (NCSBN): $360
- Pearson Vue registration change fee: $50 (for any changes to your Pearson Vue registration)
Source
“An additional $50.00 fee applies for any changes to your Pearson Vue registration.”
cannn.ca/resources/new-student-graduate
Source
“You must apply to both CNNN and Pearson Vue — both applications must be submitted at least 30 days before your desired exam date.”
cannn.ca/resources/new-student-graduate -
Email CNNN to begin your initial registration application.
Source
“Email [email protected] to begin your initial registration application”
cannn.ca/resources/new-student-graduate -
Submit the required documents, some of which must be sent directly to CNNN by your school, instructors, or regulatory bodies.
Source
“Some documents must be sent directly to CNNN by your school, instructors, or regulatory bodies — they cannot be submitted by you”
cannn.ca/resources/new-student-graduate -
Once your application is approved, pay the registration fee, which activates your registration.
Source
“Once your application is approved, your registration fee becomes available to pay. Your registration becomes active upon payment”
cannn.ca/resources/new-student-graduate
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $402
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $402 | 100% |
| One-time total | $402 | 100% |
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
-
Contact CNNN by email so they can create your account and guide you through the initial registration application.
Source
“Initial registration applications are completed through CNNN’s registration system. To begin your application, contact us at [email protected]. We will create your account and guide you through the process.”
cannn.ca/initial-application -
Provide identification, legal name change documents if applicable, verification of registration from all nursing jurisdictions where you are or were registered, evidence of practice hours, and a criminal record check with vulnerable sector screening.
Source
“Verification of Registration is required from all nursing jurisdictions in which you are currently or were formerly registered”
cannn.ca/initial-application -
Once your application is approved, pay the registration fee, which activates your registration.
Source
“Once your application is approved, your registration fee becomes available to pay. Your registration becomes active upon payment”
cannn.ca/resources/new-student-graduate
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with CNNN
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 5 done
- Listed one-time fees: $2,415
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Read the pathway descriptions and, if unsure, contact CNNN before beginning your application.
Source
“Read carefully to determine which pathway applies to you before beginning your application. If you are unsure, contact CNNN before proceeding.”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses -
Submit the IEN application form, government-issued photo ID, and the payment authorization form with the application fee so CNNN can review your documents and refer you to Inspire Global Assessments.
- IEN application fee: $2,415
Source
“pay the application fee: $2,415.00 ($2,300.00 + $115.00 GST)”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses
Source
“Complete the IEN – Inspire Global Assessment Application Form”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses - IEN application fee: $2,415
-
Source
“Competency Assessment — Complete a Computer-Based Assessment (CBA) and Simulation Lab Assessment (SLA) through your Inspire account”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses -
Inspire sends a completed report to CNNN, and the Registration Committee reviews it and makes a recommendation to the Registrar on your eligibility for licensure.
Source
“Inspire will send a completed report to CNNN. The Registration Committee will review it and make a recommendation to the Registrar on your eligibility for licensure.”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses -
If deemed eligible, submit a formal application for registration, provide any additional required documentation, and pay the registration fee.
Source
“If deemed eligible, you must: Submit a formal application for registration Provide any additional required documentation Pay the registration fee”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $2,415
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $2,415 | 100% |
| One-time total | $2,415 | 100% |
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
New graduates must provide evidence of successfully passing an entry-to-practice exam accepted by CNNN.
Source
“Evidence of successfully passing an entry-to-practice exam accepted by CNNN”
cannn.ca/initial-applicationNew graduates must submit a transcript request form and a Form C instructor reference completed by a nursing faculty member from their school of nursing.
Source
“Form C Instructor Reference Form – completed and submitted directly to CNNN by a nursing faculty member from your school of nursing.”
cannn.ca/initial-applicationFor the bridging program pathway, you must have completed a Canadian nursing bridging program approved by the regulatory body in the province or territory where it is offered.
Source
“You must have completed a Canadian nursing bridging program approved by the regulatory body in the province or territory where it is offered”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses
Experience
You must confirm a minimum of 1,125 practice hours in the past five years or 450 hours in the past two years using Form A2 completed by employers.
Source
“completed by employers from within the past five years, confirming a minimum of 1,125 hours in the past five years or 450 hours in the past two years.”
cannn.ca/initial-applicationFor the practice currency pathway, internationally educated nurses need at least 1,125 hours of nursing practice in the past five years or 450 hours in the past two years, in Canada, the United States, Australia, New Zealand, or the United Kingdom.
Source
“Minimum 1,125 hours of nursing practice in the past five years, or 450 hours in the past two years”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses
Police check
You must provide a criminal record check with vulnerable sector screening dated within the past six months.
Source
“Criminal record check with vulnerable sector screening dated within the past six months.”
cannn.ca/initial-application
Other
You must provide two pieces of government-issued ID in colour with a signature, at least one of which includes a photo.
Source
“Two pieces of government-issued ID in colour with a signature. At least one must include a photo.”
cannn.ca/initial-applicationIf your name has changed, you must provide a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or notarized statutory declaration of legal name change.
Source
“Legal name change: Where there has been a name change, one of the following is required:”
cannn.ca/initial-applicationYou must provide verification of registration from all nursing jurisdictions in which you are currently or were formerly registered.
Source
“Verification of Registration is required from all nursing jurisdictions in which you are currently or were formerly registered”
cannn.ca/initial-applicationIt is your responsibility to ensure you have the appropriate immigration status to complete any transitional education required and to work legally in Canada.
Source
“It is your responsibility to ensure you have the appropriate immigration status to complete any transitional education required and to work legally in Canada.”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages state that registration in another province or territory does not permit practice in NWT or Nunavut and that nurses registered elsewhere apply through the initial registration application, but they do not state whether such applicants can register without retaking the entry-to-practice exam or a competence assessment. Source
“Registration in another province or territory does not permit practice in NWT or Nunavut.”
cannn.ca/complaints-conduct/practising-without-a-valid-licence
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with CNNN
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with CNNN
Exams
-
NCLEX-RN
Source
“Complete your entry-to-practice examination (NCLEX-RN, or CPNRE depending on your designation)”
cannn.ca/resources/new-student-graduate -
Computer-Based Assessment (CBA)
Source
“Complete a Computer-Based Assessment (CBA) and Simulation Lab Assessment (SLA) through your Inspire account”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses -
Simulation Lab Assessment (SLA)
Source
“Complete a Computer-Based Assessment (CBA) and Simulation Lab Assessment (SLA) through your Inspire account”
cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with CNNN
Canadian experience
Form D – Employer Confirmation of English Language Proficiency must be completed by an employer you have worked for as a nurse in Canada within the past two years, confirming safe practice in an English-speaking environment. Source
“Form D – Employer Confirmation of English Language Proficiency, completed by an employer you have worked for as a nurse in Canada within the past two years, confirming safe practice in an English-speaking environment.”
cannn.ca/initial-registration-application
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with CNNN
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northwest Territories | $45.00 | $58.00 | $69.23 | Very good (5 of 5) |
| Canada | $30.00 | $43.27 | $54.37 | — |
Registered nurses in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Licence required
- Nunavut Licence required
Sources checked
- Practising Without a Valid Licence — College of Nurses of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut cannn.ca/complaints-conduct/practising-without-a-valid-licence · fetched October 10, 2026
- Initial Application — College of Nurses of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut cannn.ca/initial-application · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Student Graduate — College of Nurses of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut cannn.ca/resources/new-student-graduate · fetched October 10, 2026
- Internationally Educated Nurses — College of Nurses of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut cannn.ca/resources/internationally-educated-nurses · fetched October 10, 2026
- Initial Registration Application — College of Nurses of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut cannn.ca/initial-registration-application · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as a registered nurse in Northwest Territories?
Yes. Registration with the College of Nurses of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut is required to practise in Northwest Territories.
Which exams are required?
NCLEX-RN, Computer-Based Assessment (CBA), Simulation Lab Assessment (SLA).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.