How to Become an Optician in Alberta
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the College of Opticians of Alberta to work as an optician in Alberta or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“registration with the College of Opticians of Alberta (COA) is mandatory. Only registered members may provide restricted activities specified in the Regulations.”
From alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optician, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $3,100
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps, listed one-time fees $3,100
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Opticians of Alberta
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $3,100
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 2.7 months (only 2 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Complete the Provisional Optician Application Form online and submit the required documents, including a criminal record check, declaration of good character, liability insurance, supervisor information, education credentials and the fee.
Source
“Complete the Provisional Optician Application Form online to apply. Applicants are required to provide the following with their application form: Applicant information ... Criminal record check ... Declaration of good character ... Professional Liability Insurance ... Supervisor information ... Provisional optician fee payment ... Education Credentials”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov... -
Practice as a provisional optician under the supervision of a licensed optician, optometrist or ophthalmologist, or register as non-practicing if you only want to challenge the exam.
Source
“Provisional opticians must be supervised by a licensed optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist in order to practice. ... Applicants who would like to challenge the NACOR exam and are not currently working can apply for non-practicing registration.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov... -
Once provisional registration is approved, apply to NACOR to write the national Optical Sciences exams required for registration.
- NACOR Eyeglass Exam: $775
Source
“$775 + tax (Eyeglass Exam)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov... - NACOR Contact Lens Exam: $775
Source
“$775 + tax (Contact Lens Exam)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov... - NACOR Eyeglass and Contact Lens Examinations: $1,550
Source
“$1,550 + taxes (Eyeglass and Contact Lens Examinations)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov...
Time: 2 monthsTime source
“NACOR Examination | 2 months”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov...Source
“Applicants for the NACOR exam(s) must be registered with the COA as a provisional optician. Once your provisional registration is approved, you are eligible register for the NACOR exam(s). To apply to write the exam, complete the NACOR Exam Application Form and return it to the NACOR office.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov... - NACOR Eyeglass Exam: $775
-
After passing the exam, obtain professional liability insurance, complete the jurisprudence modules and sexual abuse prevention training, and pay the registered optician fee to become fully registered.
Time: 3 weeksTime source
“Registered Optician (RO) Registered Contact Lens Practitioner (RCLP) | 3 weeks (after completing all registration requirements)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov...Source
“If you received a passing mark on the exam, you will be required to complete the following: Obtain the necessary amount of professional liability insurance to practice in Alberta, Complete mandatory Code of Conduct jurisprudence modules, Complete mandatory training to Protect Patients from Sexual Abuse and Misconduct, Pay registered optician fee”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $3,100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $3,100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $3,100 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
-
Collect your reasons and timeframes for the courtesy permit and request a letter of good standing from the college where you are currently registered.
Source
“Gather required documents: Submit reasons for requesting courtesy permit and registration, Submit timeframes for courtesy permit and registration, Request letter of good standing from the regulatory college in the province where you are currently registered.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour... -
Fill in the application form with your contact and registration information, criminal record check, declaration of good character, proof of liability insurance, jurisprudence examination and the preventing sexual abuse course.
Source
“Complete the application form: Contact information, Registration information, Criminal record check, Declaration of good character, Provide evidence of Professional Liability Insurance, Complete jurisprudence examination, Complete Preventing Sexual Abuse and Sexual Misconduct course”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour... -
Send in your application together with the application fee and permit fee.
Source
“Submit your application and fees (application fee and permit fee)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour... -
Receive the college's notification about your courtesy permit.
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with College of Opticians of Alberta
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- Listed one-time fees: $3,100
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Listed time: 1.4 months (only 2 of 4 steps state a time)
-
Start by reading the information about immigrating, registering and practicing as an optician in Canada on the Become an Optician website.
Source
“The Opticians Council of Canada offers information about immigrating, registering, and practicing as an optician in Canada on the Become an Optician website. If you are an internationally-trained optician and have questions about working in Canada, this is the place to start.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte... -
Apply to the college for provisional registration so you can work as an optician under supervision, providing a criminal record check, declaration of good character, supervisor information and the provisional fee.
Time: 3 weeksTime source
“Provisional Registration | 3 weeks”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte...Source
“Once you have completed the PLAR process, you are eligible to apply for provisional registration in Alberta and work as an optician under supervision. Applicants are required to provide the following with their application form: Applicant information ... Criminal record check ... Declaration of good character ... Supervisor information ... Provisional optician fee payment”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte... -
Apply to write and pass the NACOR national exams to be eligible to practice as an optician in Alberta.
- NACOR Eyeglass Exam: $775
Source
“$775 + tax (Eyeglass Exam)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte... - NACOR Contact Lens Exam: $775
Source
“$775 + tax (Contact Lens Exam)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte... - NACOR Eyeglass & Contact Lens Examinations: $1,550
Source
“$1,550 + taxes (Eyeglass & Contact Lens Examinations)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte...
Source
“Once you have successfully passed the NACOR Exam(s), you are eligible to practice as an optician in Alberta. ... To apply to write the exam, complete the NACOR Exam Application Form and submit it via email to [email protected].”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte... - NACOR Eyeglass Exam: $775
-
After passing, obtain professional liability insurance, complete the jurisprudence modules and sexual abuse prevention training, and pay the registered optician fee.
Time: 3 weeksTime source
“Registered Optician (RO) Registered Contact Lens Practitioner (RCLP) | 3 weeks (after completing all registration requirements)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte...Source
“If you received a passing mark on the exam, you will be required to complete the following: Obtain the necessary amount of professional liability insurance to practice in Alberta, Complete mandatory Code of Conduct jurisprudence modules, Complete mandatory training to Protect Patients from Sexual Abuse and Misconduct, Pay registered optician fee”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte...
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $3,100
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Exams | $3,100 | 100% |
| One-time total | $3,100 | 100% |
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Requirements
Education
To become a registered optician in Alberta you need successful completion of an approved opticianry diploma program, the NACOR Optical Sciences 1 (Eyeglass) Exam and COA regulatory courses.
Source
“To become a registered optician (RO) in Alberta, you need successful completion of: An approved opticianry diploma program, National Alliance of Canadian Optician Regulators (NACOR) Optical Sciences 1 (Eyeglass) Exam, COA regulatory courses”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optician
Police check
Applicants must provide a criminal record check with their application.
Source
“Applicants are required to provide the following with their application form: ... Criminal record check”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov...
Insurance
Applicants must have professional liability insurance to practice in Alberta.
Source
“Obtain the necessary amount of professional liability insurance to practice in Alberta”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte...
Good character
Applicants must provide a declaration of good character with their application.
Source
“Declaration of good character”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov...
Other
Applicants who have been out of practice for a period of time may have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practice.
Source
“Applicants who have been out of practice for a period of time also may have to demonstrate that they are currently competent to practice.”
alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optician
Already licensed in another province?
Extra steps
Opticians registered in another Canadian province can practice temporarily in Alberta through a courtesy permit, but must meet Alberta registration requirements including a criminal record check, declaration of good character, liability insurance, a jurisprudence examination and a sexual abuse prevention course. Source
“In Alberta, the Health Professions Act allows qualified opticians with valid practice permits from other Canadian jurisdictions to practice temporarily in the province through a courtesy permit.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour...
Gather required documents
Source
“Gather required documents: Submit reasons for requesting courtesy permit and registration, Submit timeframes for courtesy permit and registration, Request letter of good standing from the regulatory college in the province where you are currently registered.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour...Complete the application form
Source
“Complete the application form: Contact information, Registration information, Criminal record check, Declaration of good character, Provide evidence of Professional Liability Insurance, Complete jurisprudence examination, Complete Preventing Sexual Abuse and Sexual Misconduct course”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour...Submit application and fees
Source
“Submit your application and fees (application fee and permit fee)”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour...Receive notification
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Opticians of Alberta
Credential assessment
IQAS assessment
An IQAS assessment compares educational credentials from other countries to educational standards in Canada and can be used to support a professional licensure application.
Source
“The International Qualifications Assessment Service (IQAS) is an Alberta government service. It completes assessments and issues certificates that compare educational credentials from other countries to educational standards in Canada. ... You can use an IQAS assessment to support your: ... professional licensure application”
alberta.ca/iqas-employment-education-licensure
Exams
-
NACOR Optical Sciences 1 (Eyeglass) Exam
Source
“NACOR administers the Optical Sciences 1 (Eyeglass) Exam and Optical Sciences 2 (Advanced Practice, Contact Lens) Exam.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov... -
NACOR Optical Sciences 2 (Advanced Practice, Contact Lens) Exam
Source
“NACOR administers the Optical Sciences 1 (Eyeglass) Exam and Optical Sciences 2 (Advanced Practice, Contact Lens) Exam.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov... -
Competency Gap Analysis (CGA)
Source
“Next you will complete the PLAR Skills Assessment Competency Gap Analysis (CGA), which consists of three sections in two areas of competency”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/non-... -
Jurisprudence examination
Source
“Complete jurisprudence examination”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour...
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Opticians of Alberta
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with College of Opticians of Alberta
Supervised practice
Required
Provisional opticians must be supervised by a licensed optician, optometrist or ophthalmologist in order to practice. Source
“Provisional opticians must be supervised by a licensed optician, optometrist, or ophthalmologist in order to practice.”
albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov...
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alberta | $17.36 | $28.00 | $39.40 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.80 | $28.50 | $39.40 | — |
Opticians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Optician: Certifications in Alberta - alis alis.alberta.ca/occinfo/certifications-in-alberta/optician · fetched October 10, 2026
- Provisional Opticians: College of Opticians of Alberta (COA)Box CleverBox Clever albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/prov... · fetched October 10, 2026
- International Candidates: College of Opticians of Alberta (COA)Box CleverBox Clever albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/inte... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Courtesy (Temporary) Permit: College of Opticians of Alberta (COA)Box CleverBox Clever albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/cour... · fetched October 10, 2026
- IQAS assessment for employment, education or licensure | Alberta.ca alberta.ca/iqas-employment-education-licensure · fetched October 10, 2026
- Non-Accredited Education: College of Opticians of Alberta (COA)Box CleverBox Clever albertaopticians.ca/registrants-applicants-students/applicants/non-... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optician in Alberta?
Yes. Registration with the College of Opticians of Alberta is required to practise in Alberta.
Which exams are required?
NACOR Optical Sciences 1 (Eyeglass) Exam, NACOR Optical Sciences 2 (Advanced Practice, Contact Lens) Exam, Competency Gap Analysis (CGA), Jurisprudence examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.