How to Become an Optician in Nova Scotia
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians to work as an optician in Nova Scotia or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“You must be fully licensed as an Optician before you are able to apply as a student Contact Lens Fitter.”
From nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 4 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 4 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Annual Registration Renewal - Dispensing Optician: $525
- Annual Registration Renewal - Contact Lens Fitter: $575
- Annual Registration Renewal - Non-Practicing: $75
- Annual Registration/Renewal - Dispensing Optician (student): $50
- Annual Registration/Renewal - Contact Lens Fitter (student): $50
- Annual Provisional License Fee: $50
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,325
-
Before starting an opticianry program, the applicant registers as a student with the provincial regulator to make sure they meet professional requirements.
- Annual Registration - Dispensing Optician: $50 (annual registration as a student)
Source
“Remember to register first with the provincial optician regulator of your choice to ensure you are meeting all of their professional requirements.”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician -
The applicant completes an accredited Dispensing Opticianry program, which includes an internship period with a sponsoring optician or employer.
Source
“Several institutions offer programs in Dispensing Opticianry in Canada for both domestic and international students. The programs also require an internship period with a sponsoring optician/employer and covers all areas of the modern optical industry.”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician -
After graduating, the applicant must pass the NACOR National Optical Sciences Examination.
Source
“After graduating from an opticianry program, students must pass the NACOR (National Optical Sciences Examination).”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,325 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Renewal - Dispensing Optician: $525
- Annual Registration Renewal - Contact Lens Fitter: $575
- Annual Registration Renewal - Non-Practicing: $75
- Annual Registration/Renewal - Dispensing Optician (student): $50
- Annual Registration/Renewal - Contact Lens Fitter (student): $50
- Annual Provisional License Fee: $50
Licensed in another province
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,325
- Listed time: 0.1 to 0.2 months (only 1 of 4 steps state a time)
-
The applicant submits a Letter of Good Standing from the regulating college they are currently registered with.
Source
“Letter of Good Standing from the regulating college our are currently registered with.”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-Transfer -
The applicant submits the completed Out of Province application, which includes a Certificate of Employer for employment verification.
Source
“The completed Out of Province application which includes Certificate of Employer for employment verification.”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-Transfer -
The applicant provides proof of liability insurance for at least one million dollars.
Source
“Proof of liability insurance for at least one million dollars.”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-Transfer -
Once all requirements are received, the applicant can expect a response or issue of a license within 3 to 5 business days.
Time: 3 to 5 daysTime source
“When all requirements are received, the applicant can expect a response or issue of a license within 3 to 5 business days.”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-TransferSource
“When all requirements are received, the applicant can expect a response or issue of a license within 3 to 5 business days.”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-Transfer
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,325 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Renewal - Dispensing Optician: $525
- Annual Registration Renewal - Contact Lens Fitter: $575
- Annual Registration Renewal - Non-Practicing: $75
- Annual Registration/Renewal - Dispensing Optician (student): $50
- Annual Registration/Renewal - Contact Lens Fitter (student): $50
- Annual Provisional License Fee: $50
Trained outside Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $1,325
-
The applicant may be eligible for Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition if their work experience has given them the knowledge and skills to pass the national examinations.
Source
“You may be eligible for the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) if, as a result of work experience, you possess the necessary knowledge and skills to successfully pass the national examinations.”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician -
The applicant may complete a series of 17 bridging modules developed to help internationally trained opticians prepare for PLAR.
Source
“To determine whether your knowledge and skill level meet the requirements a series of 17 bridging modules was developed to help internationally trained opticians prepare for PLAR.”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician -
The applicant's knowledge and skills are evaluated through the Competency Gap Analysis, which is based on the National Competencies for Opticians.
Source
“The bridging modules are based on the National Competencies for Opticians that are evaluated in both the Competency Gap Analysis (CGA).”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician -
The applicant must successfully pass the national examinations.
Source
“You may be eligible for the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) if, as a result of work experience, you possess the necessary knowledge and skills to successfully pass the national examinations.”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $1,325 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Renewal - Dispensing Optician: $525
- Annual Registration Renewal - Contact Lens Fitter: $575
- Annual Registration Renewal - Non-Practicing: $75
- Annual Registration/Renewal - Dispensing Optician (student): $50
- Annual Registration/Renewal - Contact Lens Fitter (student): $50
- Annual Provisional License Fee: $50
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Newly Graduated Candidate - Dispensing Optician: $200 (newly graduated candidate)
- Newly Graduated Candidate - Contact Lens Fitter: $200 (newly graduated candidate)
- Late Payment of Fees: $150 (late payment of fees)
- NSF Cheque: $25 (NSF cheque)
- Replacement of Receipt, ACT or Regulations: $10
Requirements
Education
Applicants must graduate from an accredited opticianry program before applying for licensure.
Source
“After graduating from an opticianry program, students must pass the NACOR (National Optical Sciences Examination).”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician
Experience
Applicants must already be working in an optical dispensary with a qualified preceptor willing to supervise the clinical component of the program.
Source
“Applicants must already be working in an optical dispensary and have a qualified preceptor/supervisor (sponsor) willing to supervise the clinical (practical) component of the program.”
nscdo.ca/student-registrationInternationally educated applicants may be eligible for PLAR if their work experience has given them the necessary knowledge and skills to pass the national examinations.
Source
“You may be eligible for the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) if, as a result of work experience, you possess the necessary knowledge and skills to successfully pass the national examinations.”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician
Insurance
Out of province applicants must provide proof of liability insurance for at least one million dollars.
Source
“Proof of liability insurance for at least one million dollars.”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-TransferRegistrants must provide proof of Professional Liability Insurance in the amount of at least $1,000,000 as part of their renewal.
Source
“You are required to provide proof of your Professional Liability Insurance in the amount of at least $1,000,000. to the College as part of your renewal.”
nscdo.ca/For-Opticians
Good character
Out of province applicants must provide a Letter of Good Standing from the regulating college they are currently registered with.
Source
“Letter of Good Standing from the regulating college our are currently registered with.”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-Transfer
Other
Out of province applicants must provide proof of employment.
Source
“Proof of employment and liability insurance are mandatory requirements.”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-ApplicationDispensing Opticians must submit eight continuing education credits upon registration renewal each year.
Source
“Dispensing Opticians (DO’s) are required to submit eight (8) professional development/continuing education credits upon registration renewal each year.”
nscdo.ca/continuing-education
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
An optician already registered in another Canadian province can register at NSCDO by submitting a Letter of Good Standing, a completed application with employment verification, and proof of liability insurance, with no fee to transfer the license and no additional exam or competence assessment mentioned.
Submit transfer requirements
Source
“To register at NSCDO as an out of province Optician you are required to submit the following to the registrar:”
nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-Transfer
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians
Credential assessment
Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR)
Assess whether internationally educated applicants or graduates of unaccredited Canadian schools have the knowledge and skills to pass the national examinations.
Source
“You may be eligible for the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) if, as a result of work experience, you possess the necessary knowledge and skills to successfully pass the national examinations.”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-OpticianCompetency Gap Analysis (CGA)
Evaluates the knowledge and skill level of internationally trained opticians against the National Competencies for Opticians.
Source
“The bridging modules are based on the National Competencies for Opticians that are evaluated in both the Competency Gap Analysis (CGA).”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician
Exams
-
NACOR (National Optical Sciences Examination)
Source
“After graduating from an opticianry program, students must pass the NACOR (National Optical Sciences Examination).”
nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nova Scotia | $22.08 | $28.07 | $32.41 | Moderate (3 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.80 | $28.50 | $39.40 | — |
Opticians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians - Becoming an Optician nscdo.ca/Become-an-Optician · fetched October 10, 2026
- Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians - Register as a Student nscdo.ca/student-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians - Out of Province Transfer nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-Transfer · fetched October 10, 2026
- Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians - For Opticians nscdo.ca/For-Opticians · fetched October 10, 2026
- Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians - Out of Province Application nscdo.ca/Out-of-Province-Application · fetched October 10, 2026
- Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians - Continuing Education nscdo.ca/continuing-education · fetched October 10, 2026
- Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians - Fees nscdo.ca/page-1075374 · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optician in Nova Scotia?
Yes. Registration with the Nova Scotia College of Dispensing Opticians is required to practise in Nova Scotia.
Which exams are required?
NACOR (National Optical Sciences Examination).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.