How to Become an Optician in Saskatchewan
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Saskatchewan College of Opticians to work as an optician in Saskatchewan or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“In Saskatchewan, students enrolling in an accredited optical program must be registered and licensed with the Saskatchewan College of Opticians (SCO) as a student member to practice under a restricted student licence.”
From scoptic.ca/student-registration, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 4 steps
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 3 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Licensed Optician: $610.16
- Licensed Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $884.40
- Non-Practicing Optician: $248.25
- Non-Practicing Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $367.37
- Restricted Licensed Optician: $610.16
- Restricted Licensed Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $884.40
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 4 done
- 4 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,604.74
-
Applicants must graduate from an accredited opticianry program.
Source
“New applicants to Saskatchewan who have graduate from an accredited opticianry program and have passed the NACOR Licensing examination can apply for registration with the SCO”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration -
Applicants must pass the NACOR Licensing examination.
Source
“New applicants to Saskatchewan who have graduate from an accredited opticianry program and have passed the NACOR Licensing examination can apply for registration with the SCO”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration -
Applicants submit proof of liability insurance, a passport-like photo, a criminal record check, a completed application form and the required fees to the SCO.
Source
“- Proof of Liability Insurance with a minimum of $1 million in coverage - Passport "like" Photo - Criminal Record Check - Completed Application Form - Required fees”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration -
Once the application is accepted, the SCO contacts the applicant for payment of fees and issues the licence.
Source
“Once your application has been accepted, SCO will contact you for payment of fees.”
scoptic.ca/how-to-apply-for-licence
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan College of Opticians
4 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,604.74 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Licensed Optician: $610.16
- Licensed Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $884.40
- Non-Practicing Optician: $248.25
- Non-Practicing Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $367.37
- Restricted Licensed Optician: $610.16
- Restricted Licensed Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $884.40
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,604.74
-
Applicants submit a letter of good standing, proof of liability insurance, a passport-like photo, a criminal record check, a completed application form and the required fees to the SCO.
Source
“Please note, applicants must submit the following: - Letter of Good Standing - Proof of Liability Insurance with a minimum of $1 million in coverage - Passport "like" Photo - Criminal Record Check - Completed Application Form - Required fees”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration -
Once the application is accepted, the SCO contacts the applicant for payment of fees, and the licence is then mailed to the business address.
Source
“Once your application has been accepted, SCO will contact you for payment of fees.”
scoptic.ca/how-to-apply-for-licence
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan College of Opticians
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,604.74 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Licensed Optician: $610.16
- Licensed Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $884.40
- Non-Practicing Optician: $248.25
- Non-Practicing Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $367.37
- Restricted Licensed Optician: $610.16
- Restricted Licensed Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $884.40
Trained outside Canada
0 of 3 done
- 3 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $3,604.74
-
Applicants register for the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition process, which is administered by NACOR on behalf of the SCO.
Source
“Accepted applicants will complete the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition process (PLAR). The National Alliance of Optician Regulators (NACOR) now administers PLAR on behalf of the SCO.”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration -
After completing the PLAR process, all PLAR applicants must pass the NACOR National Examination for eyeglasses and or contact lenses.
Source
“All PLAR applicants will be required to pass the NACOR National Examination for eyeglasses and or contact lenses after completing the PLAR process.”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration -
Once accepted for PLAR through NACOR, applicants apply for registration with the SCO by submitting proof of liability insurance, a passport-like photo, a criminal record check, a completed application form and the required fees.
Source
“Once you have registered and have been accepted for PLAR through NACOR, you can apply for registration with the SCO.”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with Saskatchewan College of Opticians
3 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $3,604.74 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Licensed Optician: $610.16
- Licensed Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $884.40
- Non-Practicing Optician: $248.25
- Non-Practicing Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $367.37
- Restricted Licensed Optician: $610.16
- Restricted Licensed Optician & Contact Lens Practitioner: $884.40
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Initial Registration Fee: $200 (one-time fee for new members or category)
Source
“Initial Registration Fee (one-time fee for new members or category) $200.00”
scoptic.ca/annual-fees - Duplicate Licence Fee: $35
- Letter of Good Standing: $25
- Printed Duplicate Licence Receipt: $15
- Licence Renewal/ Registration Late Fee: $200
- Initial Student Registration Fee: $35 (administration fee for new or returning students)
Source
“Initial Student Registration Fee (administration fee for new or returning students) $ 35.00”
scoptic.ca/annual-fees - Annual Student License Fee: $45
- Student Late Fee: $75
- ADR Process Administration: $400
- Review and Decision: $600
- Insufficient funds charge: $100 (after the cheque deposit)
Requirements
Education
Applicants must meet the English language requirements of the SCO.
Source
“Please note, applicants must meet the English language requirements of the SCO.”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration
Police check
Applicants must submit a criminal record check.
Insurance
Applicants must provide proof of liability insurance with a minimum of $1 million in coverage.
Source
“Proof of Liability Insurance with a minimum of $1 million in coverage”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration
Good character
Applicants licensed in another province or territory must be in good standing with their current provincial regulatory college.
Source
“Applicants licensed in another province or territory in Canada who are in good standing with their current provincial regulatory college can apply for registration with the SCO under the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA).”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration
Already licensed in another province?
Direct transfer
Opticians licensed in another Canadian province or territory who are in good standing can register with the SCO under the Mutual Recognition Agreement without retaking the entry-to-practice exam. Source
“Applicants licensed in another province or territory in Canada who are in good standing with their current provincial regulatory college can apply for registration with the SCO under the Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA).”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration
Apply under the MRA
Source
“The MRA allows opticians from participating provinces to easily move across the country, as the opticians all meet the same standards.”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Opticians
Credential assessment
Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR)
For international applicants and graduates of unaccredited opticianry schools in Canada to demonstrate their knowledge, skills, experience and abilities are substantially equivalent to SCO requirements.
Source
“International applicants who have completed education related to opticianry or graduates of an unaccredited opticianry school in Canada interested in applying for PLAR may be accepted for admission if they have a combination of knowledge, skills, experience, and abilities which are substantially equivalent to the requirements set out in the SCO Bylaws for new applicants.”
scoptic.ca/plar
Exams
-
NACOR Licensing examination
Source
“New applicants to Saskatchewan who have graduate from an accredited opticianry program and have passed the NACOR Licensing examination can apply for registration with the SCO”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration -
NACOR National Examination for eyeglasses and or contact lenses
Source
“All PLAR applicants will be required to pass the NACOR National Examination for eyeglasses and or contact lenses after completing the PLAR process.”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration -
Optical Sciences 1 – Eyeglasses Examination
Source
“National Alliance of Canadian Optician Regulators (NACOR) developed the Optical Sciences 1 – Eyeglasses Examination and Optical Sciences 2 – Advanced Practice Contact Lens Examination as a vehicle to measure competencies of those individuals seeking entry to practice as an optician.”
scoptic.ca/licensing-examination -
Optical Sciences 2 – Advanced Practice Contact Lens Examination
Source
“National Alliance of Canadian Optician Regulators (NACOR) developed the Optical Sciences 1 – Eyeglasses Examination and Optical Sciences 2 – Advanced Practice Contact Lens Examination as a vehicle to measure competencies of those individuals seeking entry to practice as an optician.”
scoptic.ca/licensing-examination
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Opticians
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Saskatchewan College of Opticians
Supervised practice
Required
Applicants on a restricted licence may practice under supervision while waiting to sit the NACOR Licensing examination or while completing PLAR. Source
“Applicants living in Saskatchewan pursuing employment in the optical field while completing PLAR and qualify, may be granted a restricted licence to practice under supervision.”
scoptic.ca/new-member-registration
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saskatchewan | $22.24 | $30.10 | $36.51 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.80 | $28.50 | $39.40 | — |
Opticians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Student Registration - Saskatchewan College of Opticians scoptic.ca/student-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- New Member Registration - Saskatchewan College of Opticians scoptic.ca/new-member-registration · fetched October 10, 2026
- How to apply for Licence - Saskatchewan College of Opticians scoptic.ca/how-to-apply-for-licence · fetched October 10, 2026
- Annual Fees - Saskatchewan College of Opticians scoptic.ca/annual-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR) - Saskatchewan College of Opticians scoptic.ca/plar · fetched October 10, 2026
- Licensing Examination - Saskatchewan College of Opticians scoptic.ca/licensing-examination · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optician in Saskatchewan?
Yes. Registration with the Saskatchewan College of Opticians is required to practise in Saskatchewan.
Which exams are required?
NACOR Licensing examination, NACOR National Examination for eyeglasses and or contact lenses, Optical Sciences 1 – Eyeglasses Examination, Optical Sciences 2 – Advanced Practice Contact Lens Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.