How to Become an Optician in Ontario
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with The College of Opticians of Ontario to work as an optician in Ontario or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Not listed in the sources checked
Show the source
“In Ontario, opticians are regulated by the College of Opticians of Ontario. Only Registered Opticians are entitled to perform the Controlled Act of Dispensing.”
From coptont.org/applicants, checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 2 steps
- Trained outside Canada: 2 steps
- Annual fees
-
- Annual Registration Fee (Registered Opticians, 2026): $1,068
- Annual Registration Fee (Registered Opticians, 2027): $1,095
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee: $1,068
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee January 1 – March 31 (100%): $1,068
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (100%)\* | $1068.00 | $138.84 | $1206.84”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee April 1 – June 30 (75%): $801
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee July 1 – September 30 (50%): $534
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (50%)\* | $534.00 | $69.42 | $603.42”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee October 1 – December 31 (25%): $267
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (25%)\* | $267.00 | $34.71 | $301.71”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee: $1,095
- Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee January 1 – March 31 (100%): $1,095
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (100%)\* | $1095.00 | $142.35 | $1237.35”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee April 1 – June 30 (75%): $821.25
- Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee July 1 – September 30 (50%): $547.50
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (50%)\* | $547.50 | $71.18 | $618.68”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee October 1 – December 31 (25%): $273.75
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (25%)\* | $273.75 | $35.59 | $309.34”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee January 1 – March 31 (67%): $715.56
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (67%)\* | $715.56 | $93.02 | $808.58”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee April 1 – June 30 (50%): $534
- Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee July 1 – September 30 (33%): $352.44
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (33%)\* | $352.44 | $45.82 | $398.26”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee October 1 – December 31 (17%): $181.56
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (17%)\* | $181.56 | $23.60 | $205.16”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee January 1 – March 31 (67%): $733.65
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (67%)\* | $733.65 | $95.37 | $829.02”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee April 1 – June 30 (50%): $547.50
- Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee July 1 – September 30 (33%): $361.35
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (33%)\* | $361.35 | $46.98 | $408.33”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee October 1 – December 31 (17%): $186.15
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (17%)\* | $186.15 | $24.20 | $210.35”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $13,345.71
-
Complete and submit the application form for a certificate of registration as a Registered Intern optician along with the required documents so you can challenge the national examinations.
Source
“You must apply for a certificate of registration as a Registered Intern optician to challenge the National Eyeglass and Contact Lens Examinations.”
coptont.org/applicants/accredited-education-applicant -
Challenge and successfully complete the national eyeglass and contact lens examinations offered through NACOR.
Source
“The national examinations are offered by the National Alliance of Canadian Optician Regulators (NACOR).”
coptont.org/applicants/accredited-education-applicant -
After passing both examinations, apply to the College for registration as a Registered Optician.
- Application Fee: $150 (charged to new optician applicants at the time of registration)
Source
“Application Fee The application fee is charged in addition to the annual registration fee to new optician applicants at the time of registration. | $150.00”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees
Source
“To qualify for registration as a Registered Optician in Ontario, individuals must: Successfully complete both eyeglass and contact lens examinations”
coptont.org/applicants/accredited-education-applicant - Application Fee: $150 (charged to new optician applicants at the time of registration)
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $13,345.71 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Fee (Registered Opticians, 2026): $1,068
- Annual Registration Fee (Registered Opticians, 2027): $1,095
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee: $1,068
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee January 1 – March 31 (100%): $1,068
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (100%)\* | $1068.00 | $138.84 | $1206.84”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee April 1 – June 30 (75%): $801
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee July 1 – September 30 (50%): $534
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (50%)\* | $534.00 | $69.42 | $603.42”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee October 1 – December 31 (25%): $267
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (25%)\* | $267.00 | $34.71 | $301.71”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee: $1,095
- Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee January 1 – March 31 (100%): $1,095
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (100%)\* | $1095.00 | $142.35 | $1237.35”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee April 1 – June 30 (75%): $821.25
- Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee July 1 – September 30 (50%): $547.50
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (50%)\* | $547.50 | $71.18 | $618.68”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee October 1 – December 31 (25%): $273.75
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (25%)\* | $273.75 | $35.59 | $309.34”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee January 1 – March 31 (67%): $715.56
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (67%)\* | $715.56 | $93.02 | $808.58”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee April 1 – June 30 (50%): $534
- Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee July 1 – September 30 (33%): $352.44
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (33%)\* | $352.44 | $45.82 | $398.26”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee October 1 – December 31 (17%): $181.56
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (17%)\* | $181.56 | $23.60 | $205.16”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee January 1 – March 31 (67%): $733.65
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (67%)\* | $733.65 | $95.37 | $829.02”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee April 1 – June 30 (50%): $547.50
- Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee July 1 – September 30 (33%): $361.35
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (33%)\* | $361.35 | $46.98 | $408.33”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee October 1 – December 31 (17%): $186.15
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (17%)\* | $186.15 | $24.20 | $210.35”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees
Licensed in another province
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $13,345.71
- Listed time: 6 months (only 1 of 2 steps state a time)
-
An optician registered in another Canadian province may begin working in Ontario under the As of Right exemption while completing registration with the College.
Time: 6 monthsTime source
“This exemption allows these opticians to practise under this exemption for up to 6 months.”
coptont.org/public/information-for-employers-and-business-owners/faqSource
“Under the As of Right exemption, out of province regulated opticians may start working in Ontario while they are completing their registration with the College of Opticians of Ontario.”
coptont.org/public/information-for-employers-and-business-owners/faq -
Complete the registration process with the College of Opticians of Ontario.
Source
“out of province regulated opticians may start working in Ontario while they are completing their registration with the College of Opticians of Ontario”
coptont.org/public/information-for-employers-and-business-owners/faq
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with The College of Opticians of Ontario
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $13,345.71 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Fee (Registered Opticians, 2026): $1,068
- Annual Registration Fee (Registered Opticians, 2027): $1,095
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee: $1,068
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee January 1 – March 31 (100%): $1,068
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (100%)\* | $1068.00 | $138.84 | $1206.84”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee April 1 – June 30 (75%): $801
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee July 1 – September 30 (50%): $534
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (50%)\* | $534.00 | $69.42 | $603.42”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee October 1 – December 31 (25%): $267
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (25%)\* | $267.00 | $34.71 | $301.71”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee: $1,095
- Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee January 1 – March 31 (100%): $1,095
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (100%)\* | $1095.00 | $142.35 | $1237.35”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee April 1 – June 30 (75%): $821.25
- Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee July 1 – September 30 (50%): $547.50
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (50%)\* | $547.50 | $71.18 | $618.68”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee October 1 – December 31 (25%): $273.75
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (25%)\* | $273.75 | $35.59 | $309.34”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee January 1 – March 31 (67%): $715.56
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (67%)\* | $715.56 | $93.02 | $808.58”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee April 1 – June 30 (50%): $534
- Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee July 1 – September 30 (33%): $352.44
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (33%)\* | $352.44 | $45.82 | $398.26”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee October 1 – December 31 (17%): $181.56
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (17%)\* | $181.56 | $23.60 | $205.16”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee January 1 – March 31 (67%): $733.65
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (67%)\* | $733.65 | $95.37 | $829.02”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee April 1 – June 30 (50%): $547.50
- Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee July 1 – September 30 (33%): $361.35
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (33%)\* | $361.35 | $46.98 | $408.33”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee October 1 – December 31 (17%): $186.15
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (17%)\* | $186.15 | $24.20 | $210.35”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees
Trained outside Canada
0 of 2 done
- 2 steps without a listed fee
- Annual fees: $13,345.71
-
Apply as an intern based on Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition and provide proof of English or French proficiency as set out in the Language Proficiency Policy.
Source
“If you are applying based on Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR), proof of English or French proficiency as set out in the Language Proficiency Policy.”
coptont.org/applicants/applying-as-an-intern -
Upon successful completion of the National Eyeglass and Contact Lens Examinations, intern opticians may apply for registration as a Registered Optician.
Source
“Intern opticians may apply for a certificate of registration as a Registered Optician upon successful completion of the National Eyeglass and Contact Lens Examinations.”
coptont.org/applicants/applying-as-an-intern
Listed fees for this route
No one-time fees listed by the regulator for these steps Check with The College of Opticians of Ontario
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Annual fees: $13,345.71 a year Paid every year, so not part of the one-time total.
- Annual Registration Fee (Registered Opticians, 2026): $1,068
- Annual Registration Fee (Registered Opticians, 2027): $1,095
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee: $1,068
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee January 1 – March 31 (100%): $1,068
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (100%)\* | $1068.00 | $138.84 | $1206.84”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee April 1 – June 30 (75%): $801
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee July 1 – September 30 (50%): $534
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (50%)\* | $534.00 | $69.42 | $603.42”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee October 1 – December 31 (25%): $267
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (25%)\* | $267.00 | $34.71 | $301.71”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee: $1,095
- Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee January 1 – March 31 (100%): $1,095
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (100%)\* | $1095.00 | $142.35 | $1237.35”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee April 1 – June 30 (75%): $821.25
- Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee July 1 – September 30 (50%): $547.50
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (50%)\* | $547.50 | $71.18 | $618.68”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Annual Registration Fee October 1 – December 31 (25%): $273.75
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (25%)\* | $273.75 | $35.59 | $309.34”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee January 1 – March 31 (67%): $715.56
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (67%)\* | $715.56 | $93.02 | $808.58”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee April 1 – June 30 (50%): $534
- Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee July 1 – September 30 (33%): $352.44
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (33%)\* | $352.44 | $45.82 | $398.26”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee October 1 – December 31 (17%): $181.56
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (17%)\* | $181.56 | $23.60 | $205.16”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee January 1 – March 31 (67%): $733.65
Source
“January 1 – March 31 (67%)\* | $733.65 | $95.37 | $829.02”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee April 1 – June 30 (50%): $547.50
- Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee July 1 – September 30 (33%): $361.35
Source
“July 1 – September 30 (33%)\* | $361.35 | $46.98 | $408.33”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Inactive Opticians - 2027 Registration Fees: Pro-rated Registered Optician fee October 1 – December 31 (17%): $186.15
Source
“October 1 – December 31 (17%)\* | $186.15 | $24.20 | $210.35”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Late Renewal Fee: $125
- Reinstatement Fee: $125
- Status Change Fee: $125 (only charged if the change in status is made at a time other than during the annual renewal process)
Source
“Status Change Fee The status change fee is only charged if the change in status is made at a time other than during the annual renewal process. | $125.00”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registration Committee Review - Application Fee: $150
- Certificate of Standing: $25
- Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Application Fee: $150 (charged in addition to the annual registration fee to new optician applicants at the time of registration)
Source
“Application Fee The application fee is charged in addition to the annual registration fee to new optician applicants at the time of registration. | $150.00 | $19.50 | $169.50”
coptont.org/applicants/college-fees - Registered Opticians - 2026 Registration Fees: Late Renewal Fee: $125
Requirements
Education
Applicants for intern registration must have graduated from a College-approved opticianry program within the three years prior to the application date.
Source
“have successfully completed and graduated from an opticianry program approved by the College in the three years prior to the date of the application”
coptont.org/applicants/accredited-education-applicant
Experience
Applicants must have completed 1000 hours of verified dispensing experience.
Insurance
Applicants who are employed or intend to be employed to perform the Controlled Act of Dispensing must provide proof of Professional Liability Insurance.
Source
“Insurance or Undertaking Form and proof of Professional Liability Insurance if you are currently employed or intend to be employed in any setting where you will be performing the Controlled Act of Dispensing”
coptont.org/applicants/quiz
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
Source
“Under the As of Right exemption, out of province regulated opticians may start working in Ontario while they are completing their registration with the College of Opticians of Ontario.”
coptont.org/public/information-for-employers-and-business-owners/faq
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Opticians of Ontario
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Opticians of Ontario
Exams
-
Optical Sciences 1 - Eyeglass Examination
Source
“The College of Opticians of Ontario (COO) recognizes the following examinations: Optical Sciences 1 - Eyeglass Examination”
coptont.org/applicants/accredited-education-applicant -
Optical Sciences 2 - Advanced Practice Contact Lens Examination
Source
“Optical Sciences 2 – Advanced Practice Contact Lens Examination”
coptont.org/applicants/accredited-education-applicant
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Opticians of Ontario
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Opticians of Ontario
Supervised practice
Not stated by the regulator Check with The College of Opticians of Ontario
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | $17.80 | $24.04 | $42.80 | Good (4 of 5) |
| Canada | $17.80 | $28.50 | $39.40 | — |
Opticians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Newfoundland and Labrador Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Applicants - The College of Opticians of Ontario - COO coptont.org/applicants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Accredited Education Applicant - The College of Opticians of Ontario - COO coptont.org/applicants/accredited-education-applicant · fetched October 10, 2026
- College Fees - The College of Opticians of Ontario - COO coptont.org/applicants/college-fees · fetched October 10, 2026
- FAQ - The College of Opticians of Ontario - COO coptont.org/public/information-for-employers-and-business-owners/faq · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applying as an Intern - The College of Opticians of Ontario - COO coptont.org/applicants/applying-as-an-intern · fetched October 10, 2026
- Requirements Quiz - The College of Opticians of Ontario - COO coptont.org/applicants/quiz · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optician in Ontario?
Yes. Registration with The College of Opticians of Ontario is required to practise in Ontario.
Which exams are required?
Optical Sciences 1 - Eyeglass Examination, Optical Sciences 2 - Advanced Practice Contact Lens Examination.
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.