How to Become an Optician in Newfoundland and Labrador
Do you need a licence?
Licence required
You must be registered with the Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador to work as an optician in Newfoundland and Labrador or to use a protected title.
- Protected titles
- Dispensing Optician
Show the source
“I understand that direct supervision by a licensed registered Dispensing Optician (or Optometrist) approved by the Board is mandatory when undertaking tasks of optical dispensing as defined in the Dispensing Opticians Act, Regulations and Standards of Practice.”
From opticiansnl.ca/application-for-student-status-for-dispensing-optici..., checked October 10, 2026.
At a glance
- Licence status
- Licence required See the source
- Routes
-
- Trained in Canada: 3 steps (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Licensed in another province: 1 step, listed one-time fees $910
- Trained outside Canada: 1 step (1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total)
- Annual fees
- Not stated by the regulator Check with Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador
Your roadmap
Tick each step as you finish it. Your ticks are kept in this browser only.
Trained in Canada
0 of 3 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
- 2 steps without a listed fee
-
The applicant enrols in the Optical Sciences course at NAIT/OAC or another program or institution accredited by NACOR.
Source
“Course : Optical Sciences : NAIT/OAC NAIT/OAC Or enrolment in another program/institution accredited by NACOR”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-student-status-for-dispensing-optici... -
- Student Application Fee: $30 (non-refundable)
Source
“Pay the $30.00 application fee [non-refundable]”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-student-status-for-dispensing-optici...
Source
“Certificate of completion / transcript for High School or its equivalent ... A current [within 3 months] criminal record and vulnerable sector clearance certificate ... Pay the $30.00 application fee [non-refundable] ... Supervisor(s) completed forms”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-student-status-for-dispensing-optici... - Student Application Fee: $30 (non-refundable)
-
While in training, the applicant works under the direct supervision of a Board-approved licensed Dispensing Optician or Optometrist when performing optical dispensing tasks.
Source
“I understand that direct supervision by a licensed registered Dispensing Optician (or Optometrist) approved by the Board is mandatory when undertaking tasks of optical dispensing as defined in the Dispensing Opticians Act, Regulations and Standards of Practice.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-student-status-for-dispensing-optici...
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
2 steps without a listed fee, so the total may not be the full cost.
Licensed in another province
0 of 1 done
- Listed one-time fees: $910
-
An optician already licensed in another Canadian province completes the NL License Application for out-of-province candidates.
- Out Of Province Application EG: $400
- Out Of Province Application CL Fitter: $510
Source
“Out Of Province Application | | EG | $400.00 | CL Fitter | $510.00 |”
opticiansnl.ca/registrants
Source
“### Out of Province ”
opticiansnl.ca/applications
Listed fees for this route
One-time total listed: $910
| Fee type | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Application | $910 | 100% |
| One-time total | $910 | 100% |
Trained outside Canada
0 of 1 done
- 1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total
-
The internationally educated applicant completes the registration application for international and non-accredited education applicants.
- International Applicants fee: $400 (for international applicants)
Source
“### International and Non-accredited Education ”
opticiansnl.ca/applications
Listed fees for this route
1 fee depends on your situation and is not in the total.
Other listed fees
The regulator lists these without tying them to one step, so they are not in the route totals above. Check which apply to you.
- Dispensing Optician: $400
- Contact Lens fitter: $510
- Eye Glass student Permit (36 months): $200
- Contact Lens student Permit (12 months): $100 (for a contact lens student permit covering 12 months)
- Late Payment of Fees: $150 (when fees are paid late)
- NSF Cheque: $25 (when a cheque is returned NSF)
- Replacement of Registration Certificate: $50 (when replacing a registration certificate)
- Licensing fees: $150 (for non-compliant registrants)
- Professional Liability Insurance: $150 (for non-compliant registrants)
Source
“Non-compliant | | Licensing fees | $150.00 | Professional Liability Insurance | $150.00 |”
opticiansnl.ca/registrants - Reinstatement application EG: $400
- Reinstatement application CL Fitter: $510
Source
“Reinstatement application | | EG | $400.00 | CL Fitter | $510.00 |”
opticiansnl.ca/registrants
Requirements
Experience
Canadian applicants without formal training, or graduates of non-accredited programs, need three years of experience in the optical retail setting.
Source
“Application for Registration and License for Canadian Applicants without formal training or graduates from programs without NACOR accreditation who have three (3) years of experience in the Optical retail setting.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-registration-and-license-for-canadia...
Police check
Applicants must provide a current criminal record check or letter of conduct from within the past 3 months.
Source
“Please provide a current (within the past 3 months) affidavit for criminal record check / letter of conduct.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-lapsed-license-renewal-form
Insurance
Applicants must provide documentation confirming professional liability insurance, with a $1 million policy for eyeglass dispensing and a $3 million policy for contact lens dispensing.
Source
“Please attach documentation confirming you have Professional Liability Insurance from the Newfoundland Guild of Dispensing Opticians /Opticians Association of Canada. ... Eyeglass Dispensing requires $1 million policy, Contact Lens Dispensing requires $3 million policy.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-lapsed-license-renewal-form
Other
The candidate is expected to speak and write in English with reasonable fluency.
Source
“The candidate is expected to speak and write in English with reasonable fluency”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-registration-and-license-for-canadia...Applicants must provide two letters of personal reference and professional competence from professional peers who have known them within the past three years.
Source
“Please provide two (2) letters of personal reference and professional competence from members within your professional peer group who have known you within the past three (3) years.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-registration-and-license-for-canadia...Lapsed license applicants must enclose three letters of reference from professional peers who have worked with them within the past three years.
Source
“Please enclose 3 letters of reference from members within your professional peer group who have worked with you within the past three (3) years.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-lapsed-license-renewal-formApplicants must provide two passport size photos signed on reverse.
Source
“Please enclose 2 passport size photos, signed on reverse.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-lapsed-license-renewal-formApplicants for student status must provide a certificate of completion or transcript for high school or its equivalent.
Source
“Certificate of completion / transcript for High School or its equivalent”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-student-status-for-dispensing-optici...Registrants are expected to complete continuing education requirements on an annual basis.
Source
“Once accepted you will complete registration forms, pay registration fees, have professional liability insurance in place and are expected to complete continuing education requirements on annual basis.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-lapsed-license-renewal-form
Already licensed in another province?
Not stated
The pages list an out-of-province NL license application but do not state whether a current licence in another province is accepted without extra assessments or exams. Source
“### Out of Province ”
opticiansnl.ca/applications
Processing time: Not stated by the regulator Check with Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador
Credential assessment
Not stated by the regulator Check with Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador
Exams
-
Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR)
Source
“If greater than 36 months, you will be required to complete the Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition [PLAR] process for special consideration [offered on-line/user pay].”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-lapsed-license-renewal-form
Language tests
Not stated by the regulator Check with Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador
Canadian experience
Not stated by the regulator Check with Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador
Supervised practice
Required
Students in training must work under the direct supervision of a Board-approved licensed Dispensing Optician or Optometrist when undertaking optical dispensing tasks. Source
“I understand that direct supervision by a licensed registered Dispensing Optician (or Optometrist) approved by the Board is mandatory when undertaking tasks of optical dispensing as defined in the Dispensing Opticians Act, Regulations and Standards of Practice.”
opticiansnl.ca/application-for-student-status-for-dispensing-optici...
Demand and pay
| Where | Low | Median | High | Outlook |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newfoundland and Labrador | $20.43 | $29.59 | $38.51 | Undetermined |
| Canada | $17.80 | $28.50 | $39.40 | — |
Wages by region and job outlook in Newfoundland and Labrador
Opticians in other provinces and territories
- British Columbia Licence required
- Alberta Licence required
- Saskatchewan Licence required
- Manitoba Licence required
- Ontario Licence required
- Quebec Licence required
- New Brunswick Licence required
- Nova Scotia Licence required
- Prince Edward Island Licence required
- Yukon Not confirmed yet
- Northwest Territories Not confirmed yet
- Nunavut Not confirmed yet
Sources checked
- Application for Student Status for Dispensing Opticians in Training - DOBNL opticiansnl.ca/application-for-student-status-for-dispensing-optici... · fetched October 10, 2026
- Applications | Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador (NL) opticiansnl.ca/applications · fetched October 10, 2026
- Registrants | Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador (NL) opticiansnl.ca/registrants · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application for Lapsed License Renewal Form - DOBNL opticiansnl.ca/application-for-lapsed-license-renewal-form · fetched October 10, 2026
- Application for Registration and License for Canadian Applicants without formal training - DOBNL opticiansnl.ca/application-for-registration-and-license-for-canadia... · fetched October 10, 2026
Frequently asked questions
2
Do you need a licence to work as an optician in Newfoundland and Labrador?
Yes. Registration with the Dispensing Opticians Board of Newfoundland and Labrador is required to practise in Newfoundland and Labrador, and to use the title Dispensing Optician.
Which exams are required?
Prior Learning Assessment and Recognition (PLAR).
Getting Licensed? Get Your Resume Ready Too
Nainly pairs expert resume assessment with a done-for-you career marketing campaign, so your profile keeps reaching decision-makers while you work through the licensing steps.
Schedule a CallFree consultation. No commitment.